Outstanding alumni to be honored during Homecoming

Thursday, September 5, 2019

The UNC Charlotte Alumni Association has selected the recipients of the 2019 Excellence in Leadership and 10 Under 10 awards. The University community is invited to celebrate these outstanding alumni during Homecoming Week, Sept. 22-29.

The UNC Charlotte Young Alumni Chapter hosts the 10 Under 10 Awards, which highlights accomplished alumni who have graduated within the past 10 years. Award recipients are Darryl Bellamy ’12, Samantha Timmons ’16, Jarron Thomas ’12 and Emmanuel Kei ’16, Belk College of Business; Paula Canter ’14, Mellissa Oliver ’12 and Justin Marsh ’11, ’15 MBA, William States Lee College of Engineering; Mykell Gates Jamil ’10, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences/College of Arts + Architecture; Jonathan Peebles ’13 ’16 MPA, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences; and Katie Shue McGuffin ’09, ’12, ’15 MS, ’17 DNP, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences/College of Health and Human Services. 

These recipients will be honored at 6:30 p.m., Thursday, Sept. 26, in the Popp Martin Student Union. Register to attend the event.

The UNC Charlotte Black Alumni Chapter hosts the Excellence in Leadership Award, which honors University alumni and friends who have achieved excellence in the Charlotte community. Award recipients are Pamela Wideman ’06 MPA (Public Service) and Robin Green ’96, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences; B.J. Williams ’10 (Education), Cato College of Education; Khaleel Lloyd ’14 (Entrepreneurship), College of Health and Human Services; Judge Linda Bratton Haynes ’80 and Derek Ross ’05, Belk College of Business.

Register to attend the ceremony honoring these recipients; the event is scheduled for 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m., Friday, Sept. 27, at the Harris Alumni Center.