Submit nominees for 2020-21 O. Max Gardner Award

Tuesday, September 15, 2020

Faculty nominees for the 2020-21 O. Max Gardner Award are being solicited. This award is given annually by the UNC Board of Governors to “that member of the faculty of the University of North Carolina who, during the current scholastic year, has made the greatest contribution to the welfare of the human race.”

Note that nominees can be of any rank, “including instructors, engaged in teaching in any unit, institution or branch of service” in the University system.

Past winners of the award include UNC Charlotte’s Pinku Mukherjee and Diane M. Browder. Linked here is the UNC System announcement of last year's winner, Samantha Meltzer-Brody of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Forward the names of nominees to before 5 p.m., Wednesday, Oct. 14. In the nomination, include the individual’s name, rank and department/unit. Also, provide a description of this individual’s specific contribution(s) or achievement(s), and their impact on others.