Changes to Academic Integrity Code approved

The UNC Charlotte Code of Student Academic Integrity sets forth the standards of academic integrity for students at the University, and it describes attendant faculty responsibilities. Chancellor Philip L. Dubois recently approved several changes to the Academic Integrity Code.

These changes resulted from the alteration in the makeup of the University, input from members of the Academic Integrity Board (AIB), the number of cases being heard and recommendations by legal and senior staff.

According to AIB Chair Richard Lejk, a faculty member in the College of Computing and Informatics, with the addition of various programs, students now have academic exercises that are not related directly to a course. However, it was determined that violations were being committed in these activities and were not covered specifically by the Academic Integrity Code, which directly connects penalties to specific courses.  Thus, the chancellor approved broadening the code to include these non-course specific exercises, such as the preparation of materials submitted as part of a program or degree requirement.

Other changes included enhancing the definition of “academic community” to include staff personnel, expanding the examples listed under each violation and specifically defining activities in group work. Another change placed a “statute of limitations” on when a faculty member must file charges: no later than the end of the semester following the semester in which the charge is made.

Increasing AIB membership from 13 to 21 full-time faculty members was another significant change to the code. Lejk noted this change was necessitated by the larger number of hearings being held, especially at critical times of the academic year. The new panel consists of the following members:

College of Arts + Architecture

                Angela Rajagopalan, Art and Art History

                Delane Vanada, Art and Art History

College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

                John Bender, Geography and Earth Sciences

                Banita Brown, Chemistry

                Joseph Kuhns, Criminal Justice and Criminology

                Lisa Rasmussen, Philosophy

                Stan Schneider, Biology

                Lori Van Wallendael, Psychology

Belk College of Business

                Ted Amato, Economics

                Gary Kohut, Management

                Craig Depken II, Economics

College of Education

                Richard Lambert, Educational Leadership

                Michael Green, Reading and Elementary Education

                Suzanne Lamorey, Child and Family Development

Lee College of Engineering

                Edward Morse, Mechanical Engineering

                Nan Byars, Engineering Technology

                Martin Kane, Civil and Environmental Engineering

College of Computing and Informatics

               Diane Cassidy, Computer Science            

               Bruce Long, Software and Information Systems


College of Health and Human Services

               Meredith Troutman-Jordan, Nursing

               Mike Turner, Kinesiology