Thursday, June 1, 2017

UNC Charlotte’s Police and Public Safety Department (PPS) recently honored outstanding employees during its annual awards ceremony, held in conjunction with National Police Week.

James Stone was recognized as Officer of the Year. Reggie Faggart, a ranger, was named the Civilian Employee of the Year, and Dispatcher of the Year went to Rachel Proctor.

New this year was the David A. Coleman Sr. Excellence in Leadership Award, named for the PPS deputy director who passed away in March.

The award, which the department plans to present annually, honors a supervisor who has made outstanding contributions to the University community and who exemplifies the highest principles of a true leader in policing.

Sgt. Stephanie Klein was the inaugural recipient.

“Deputy Director Coleman was dedicated to recognizing and developing leaders in Police and Public Safety,” Chief Jeff Baker said. “Through the good work of Sgt. Klein and others like her, we know his legacy will live on.”

Employees also were recognized during the ceremony for advancements in their careers and educations:

  • Sergeants Matt Fior and Lewis Bowman were promoted to lieutenant
  • Officers Jerry Lecomte, Santerrio Johnson, Rick Gundacker and Marquis Hopkins were promoted to sergeant
  • Sgt. Rick Gundacker and Officer Edward Plant were certified as field training officers
  • Lt. Lewis Bowman was certified as a general instructor
  • Officer Carlos Valentin and Sergeants Rick Gundacker and Marquis Hopkins were certified as SWAT operators
  • Officers Celeste Godwin, Chase Martin and Earl Smith were certified as bike patrol officers
  • Lt. Brian Thomas received a doctoral degree, and Sgt. T.J. Johnson received a bachelor’s degree







Sgt. Stephanie Klein (left) receives the David A. Coleman Sr. Excellence in Leadership Award from David Coleman Jr. (center) and Chief Jeff Baker.






Photos by Chris Gonyar